Trybunał Konstytucyjny

Adres: 00-918 Warszawa, al. Szucha 12 a tel: +22 657-45-15

Biuletyn Informacji Publicznej

The suspension of the driving licence in the case of speeding at more than 50 km/h in a built-up area or in the case of transporting a number of passengers that exceeds the number of seats specified in the vehicle’s registration certificate K 4/21

Ref. No. K 4/21


Warsaw, 13 December 2022

The Constitutional Tribunal, composed of:

Zbigniew Jędrzejewski – Presiding Judge
Piotr Pszczółkowski – Judge Rapporteur
Jakub Stelina
Michał Warciński
Andrzej Zielonacki,

having considered, at a sitting in camera on 13 December 2022 – in accordance with Article 92(1)(1) of the Act of 30 November 2016 on the Organisation of the Constitutional Tribunal and the Mode of Proceedings Before the Constitutional Tribunal (Journal of Laws – Dz. U. of 2019, item 2393) – the application by the First President of the Supreme Court, lodged with the Tribunal for it to consider the conformity of:

Article 102(1)(4) and Article 102(1)(5), Article 102(1c), and Article 102(1d)-(1da) of the Act of 5 January 2011 on Vehicle Drivers (Journal of Laws – Dz. U. of 2020, item 1268, as amended) in conjunction with Article 7(1)(1) and Article 7(1)(2) of the Act of 20 March 2015 amending the Criminal Code and certain other acts (Journal of Laws – Dz. U. item 541, as amended) to Article 2, Article 45(1) and Article 78 of the Constitution,

adjudicates as follows:

Article 7(1)(2) of the Act of 20 March 2015 amending the Criminal Code and certain other acts (Journal of Laws – Dz. U. item 541, as amended), construed in the way that the decision referred to in Article 102(1)(4) and  Article 102(1)(5) of the Act of 5 January 2011 on Vehicle Drivers (Journal of Laws – Dz. U. of 2021 item 1212, as amended) is solely based on the traffic control authority’s information about the commission of the offence specified in Article 135(1)(2) of the Road Traffic Act of 20 June 1997 (Journal of Laws – Dz. U. z 2022 item 988, as amended), is inconsistent with Article 2 of the Constitution of the Republic of Poland.

Moreover, the Tribunal decides:

to discontinue the proceedings as to the remainder.

The ruling was unanimous.

Zbigniew Jędrzejewski
Piotr Pszczółkowski
Jakub Stelina
Michał Warciński
Andrzej Zielonacki